
 

 

Set Up 
Object of the game: to build the largest enclosed field 
with sheep of your color. 

Each player draws, at random, a shepherd token to 
determine their color. On the back of this token appear 
four sheep and a shepherd, with the front bearing a 
question mark. Watch out, each player’s color is hidden 
to the other players! 

Each player then draws four tiles at random from the 
bag, which will constitute their starting hands. 

The "village square" tile is then played in the middle of 
the table (see the illustration on the left). 

 

The First Turn 
The first player must play one of their four tiles beside the 
starting tile, taking care to match the landscape of the tiles’ 
edges. For the first turn, it is thus necessary to join a village 
edge to the starting tile. 

The tile highlighted in red in the illustration on the right was 
played by the first player. This player then draws a tile from 
the bag and adds it to her hand. This ends their turn. 

And so on... 

 

 

And so on... 
Each player proceeds in the same way: placing a tile 
next to an already played tile, then drawing a tile (or 
several, see below). 

In the illustration on the left, the active player played 
the tile highlighted in red. As this tile is touching two 
other tiles already played, the player can draw two tiles 
instead of one. This is called a Multi-Draw. 

In fact a player draws as many tiles as there are tiles 
touching the one they played (from 1 to 4 tiles can be 
drawn). 



Wolf! 
If a player has a Wolf or Hunter token, they can play it at 
any time, even out of turn. 

In the example to the right, the player cries "Wolf!" and 
plays their Wolf tile (highlighted in red in the illustration on 
the right) beside a forest. 

A Wolf cancels all the enclosed fields which touch its 
forest... 

In the illustration, the "cancelled" enclosures are those 
marked with a red cross. They will count for zero at the end 
of the game, except if... 

 

Bang! Bang! 
Except if a Hunter kills the Wolf! 

A Hunter token can be played on a Wolf, canceling the 
effect of the Wolf (see the illustration on the left). 

The Hunter can also be played in a forest without a 
Wolf; it is then forbidden to play a Wolf token in that 
same forest. 

As with the Wolf, the Hunter can be played at any time, 
even out of turn. It is simply necessary to announce out 
loud "Hunter!" before playing it. 

Revealing Your Color 
and Calling it Quits 
At any time, a player can decide to reveal their color, even 
out of turn. Simply turn over your shepherd token (marked 
with a question mark on the back) and then play it, 
shepherd side up, on the game board as any other tile, then 
draw from 1 to 4 additional tiles as in a normal turn. You 
then profit from a free turn and can play another one of your 
tiles. 

Each player can choose to quit playing before the end of the 
game. The first player to quit receives a +6 Quitting Bonus 
to their score at the end of the game; the second +3, the 
third +1; and the last player receives no bonus at all (but will 
be able to finish quietly by playing all the tiles which remain 
in their hand). 

End of the Game 
When everyone has given up or cannot play anymore, 
each player determines which enclosed field has the 
largest number of sheep in their color, and which does 
not border a forest sheltering a Wolf. You receive 1 
point per sheep in this field, plus any Quitting Bonus. 
The player with the highest total wins! 

  



 

 

After having played a Wolf or a Hunter out of turn, can a player immediately draw additional tiles? 

Yes, as many tiles as there are tiles in contact with the Wolf or Hunter tile just played (from 1 to 4). For example, 
by placing a Hunter on a Wolf already surrounded by four forest tiles, the player immediately draws four 
additional tiles from the bag. 

 

What happens when a player reveals their color during their own turn? 

This permits a player to take three turns in a row: 

1. The player takes their normal turn, and draws new tiles. 
2. They reveal their color, plays the shepherd color tile, and take the appropriate number of new tiles. 
3. They take a “one time only” additional free turn. 

 

Can a player reveal their color or give up out of turn? 

Yes.  

 

Is it allowed to have "holes" in the landscape, that is to say, empty spaces surrounded by four tiles?

Yes. However, a field with a "hole" inside it is not considered closed.  

 

Can a player keep blue sheep and red sheep in the same closed field?

No. A pen can be made up only of sheep of the same color.  

 

Does a player have to reveal her color and give up at the same time?

No, not necessarily. 

 

When one forest contains a Hunter, another a Wolf, and then the two 
forests are connected by a new tile (see illustration), what happens? 

The Hunter does not kill the Wolf; the Wolf thus remains active and cancels 
all the fields bordering the forest, unless and until a Hunter tile is played on 
top of him. However, it is now forbidden to play another Wolf in this new 
large forest, since there is already a Hunter in it. 

Contradicted by the published English rules: When two or more 
previously separate forests merge, and one of them has a Wolf Tile and the
other a Hunter Tile, the Wolf Tile has to be covered by the Hunter Tile to
make the fields on the newly-formed forest's edge safe. 

 

When should the points be calculated?

The points of a player are counted only when the game is finished. Only then do players calculate points for the
largest number of sheep in an enclosed field plus the Quitting Bonus. 

Variants 
Hand Size 
Impose a 3-tile hand size to cut down on analysis 
paralysis. Discard extra tiles of your choice. 

No Multi-Draw 
Instead of the Multi-Draw, grant an additional turn. 

Count All the Penned-in Sheep 
All your completed flocks of penned-in sheep are 
counted, and the player with the highest total wins. 

The Hungry Wolf (or Werewolf) 
Playing a Wolf on top of a Hunter negates the latter. 
Basically, the Wolf eats the Hunter. 

Multi-Tile Play 
The Multi-Draw result of your first tile played on 
determines the total number of tiles you may play on 
your turn, in addition to the Multi-Draw. 

If you played next to just one other tile, then your turn 
is now over, but if you played a tile next to 2 other tiles, 
you must still play another tile; if played next to 3 tiles, 
you must play 2 more tiles; and at most 3 more tiles if 
you played next to 4 tiles. 

Do not draw new tiles for the additional tiles played 
beyond the first. If combined with the Hand Size Limit, 
then discard only if still necessary after all your tiles 
have been played. 


