Amyitis: The Palace
Setup

e Set the Palace board next to the game board. Place the players’ score markers at the start of the
palace track (before the first square). To indicate their score, the players will use one of their cubes
instead.

e Shuffle the 20 cards of the Amyitis extension (orange frame). They replace the cards of the basic
game. NB: Depending on the number of players, some cards must be discarded for the whole game
(as was the case in the basic game).

Special rules

Recruitment: It is now possible to recruit 2 more characters.

Courtier: The Courtier is recruited accord-
ing to the same rules as in the basic game. A
player who recruits the Courtier earns 1 pres-
tige point and moves 1 square up on the
palace track. If the square they arrive on is
occupied, the player places their disc on top of
the disc(s) occupying the square.

Noble: To recruit a Noble, the player must
pay 2 coins on their turn. Then they move 2
squares up on the palace track. If the square
they arrive on is occupied, the player places
their disc on top of the disc(s) occupying the
square. NB: This action is always available and
counts as a recruitment. As a consequence,

the player’s turn is over.

The Palace phase: From the second game turn to the end of the game, after the Setup phase
(phase |) and before the players’ actions (phase Il), the palace is counted. The player who is high-
est on the palace track selects 1 power among the 4 which are available (see below). To indicate
their choice, the player places a cube of theirs on the power they have chosen. Then, following
their order on the palace track, the other players choose 1 power among those which are left.
NB: Cubes are removed from the squares at the beginning of each Palace phase. The players who
have not entered the palace (that is, who have not moved at least one square up on the palace
track) cannot select a power.

Ties: If several players are on the same square of the palace track, the player whose marker is on
top of the pile chooses first.

2 players : each player selects 2 powers alternately, beginning with the first player.



Powers

First player: The player who selects this
power becomes the new first player (and takes
the First player card). The player will conse-
quently play first in the next phase. The first
player status will not be passed on at the end
of the turn, but only during the palace phase.
NB: If, at the end of the palace phase, no player
has selected this power, the First player card
is passed to the next player clockwise (even if
the next player clockwise has not entered the
palace).
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Craft: The player who selects this power can
recruit 1 character of their choice (including a
Courtier, but not a Noble) during the next ac-
tion phase. The player consequently takes the
action associated with the chosen Craft (which
includes earning prestige points if they choose
the Courtier or the Engineer) before the next
player plays. This recruitment is free.

Procession: The player who selects this
power performs the procession at the end of
the turn. So, the procession is not necessarily
performed by the last player anymore.

NB: If, at the end of the palace phase, no
player has selected this power, the player to
the right of the new first player performs the
procession (even if the player to the right has
not entered the palace).

Minor courtier: The player who selects this
power moves 1 square up on the palace track
and one coin. If the square they arrive on is
occupied, the player places their disc on top of
the disc(s) occupying the square.

NB: The minor courtier yields no prestige
points.



