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The Kingkiller ChronicleTM, by Patrick Rothfuss, is a story within a story. Over the 
course of The Name of the Wind and The Wise Man’s Fear, a narrative unfolds as the 
protagonist tells the tale of his life. These books were a key source of inspiration for Call 
to Adventure, a game about character development and storytelling. So it’s fitting that 
the game’s first expansion takes you to the Four Corners, and gives you the chance to 
create a story in the world of Kvothe, Denna, Auri, and the Chandrian.

Call to Adventure: The Name of the Wind is your chance to become a Cealdish trader, 
an Edema Ruh trouper, or a Vintish noble. Perhaps you’ll survive the streets of Tarbean, 
attend The University, venture into the Fae, or earn your Pipes. For fans of the books, 
this is a chance to follow in Kvothe’s footsteps… or choose a different path. For anyone 
who loves heroic fantasy, this set includes new character options and introduces 
Naming, a system of magic driven by deep understanding.

Contents

9 Character Cards
3 Origin • 1 Motivation • 5 Destiny

53 Story Cards
12 Act I • 20 Act II • 21 Act III

16 Hero & Antihero Cards
8 Hero • 8 Antihero

5 Adversary Quests

Naming Rules
Reminder Card

Name Tokens
4 Wind • 4 Iron • 4 Fire
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Preparing the Game
To accurately convey the setting of the Kingkiller ChronicleTM and provide a fresh play 
experience, this expansion includes many cards that replace cards in the core game. 
Before you play a game of Call to Adventure: Name of the Wind, set aside the following 
cards from the core game:

Destiny:
•	 Blood of the Dragon
•	 High Arcanist
•	 Intrepid Explorer
•	 One With Nature

Act I:
•	 Adventurous
•	 Animal Companion
•	 Armed Robbery
•	 Cruel Winter
•	 Dangerous Artifact
•	 Magical Test
•	 Mentor
•	 Missing Person
•	 Raging Inferno
•	 Restless Spirit
•	 The Academy
•	 Thieves' Guild

Act III:
•	 Ancient Evil
•	 Army of the Dead
•	 Assassins’ Guild
•	 Crypt of Horrors
•	 Dark Colossus
•	 Dark Revelation
•	 Demon Horde
•	 Divine Calling
•	 Dragon’s Hoard
•	 Force of Nature
•	 Into the Abyss
•	 Queen’s Chambers
•	 Rogue Elemental
•	 Supernatural
•	 Sword of Darkness
•	 Trial of the Magi
•	 Witch’s Den
•	 The Demon
•	 The High Priest
•	 The Sorceress
•	 The Warlord

Act II:
•	 Daring Heist
•	 Desert Caravan
•	 Distant Lands
•	 Enlightened
•	 Naval Battle
•	 Perilous Dungeon
•	 Savage Beast
•	 Sidekick
•	 Street Gang
•	 Trench Warfare
•	 The Crime Lord
•	 The Dark Rider
•	 The Mad Cultist
•	 The Warlock
•	 The Wolf

Adversary Quests:
•	 Crime Wave
•	 Demon’s Curse
•	 Doomsday Cult
•	 Hunted by the Rider
•	 Madness of the Sorceress
•	 Night of the Wolf
•	 High Priest’s Inquisition
•	 War for the Throne
•	 Warlock’s Blight

Call to Adventure: The Name of the Wind does not change the core objective of the 
game. Your goal is still to become the hero with the greatest Destiny. This expansion 
includes new cards that change the game’s theme and setting to match the Heroic 
Fantasy world of the Kingkiller ChronicleTM. It also adds one new rule: Naming.

Objective
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New Story Icon
In Call to Adventure: Name of the Wind, the Nature story icon is not available. Instead, 
players may earn the Music icon. The story icons available in this set are:

Gaining more than one copy of a Story Icon will give you extra Destiny points at end of 
game. All sets of Story Icons are scored in the same way, adding directly to your Destiny 
score at end of game:

Naming
This expansion adds one new rule to Call to Adventure. Naming is the profound and 
volatile art of understanding a thing so deeply that it is yours to command. In Call to 
Adventure, you can learn the name of the Wind, Fire, and Iron.  

1.	 Once per turn, if you fail a challenge, you may attempt a Name.

2.	 Check to see if you have a bonus to the attempt.

•	 Each Name has an associated pair of Ability icons that gives you a 
+1 to your attempt. You may only gain this bonus once per attempt.

•	 Each copy of the corresponding Name icon in your story gives you 
an additional +1 to your attempt.

•	 The only Hero/Antihero cards that you may apply to a Name 
attempt are Bind With Iron, Command the Flame, and Call the 
Wind. 

3.	 Cast the core runes only.

•	 You may not add Dark runes to your attempt, or any Ability runes.

•	 You do not draw a Hero or Antihero card on a result of  .

4.	 If the result of your attempt is 4 or higher, you learn that Name.

Each Name token you gain is worth  at end of game. For the rest of the 
game, when you would attempt a path of that type, you automatically 
succeed without casting the runes for that challenge. You may learn each 
Name only once.

+ =8=2 =4
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Play Example: Gaining a Name Icon
A challenge may have a Name icon on one or both of its paths. In this example, the 
“Navigate to Safety” path has the Name of the Wind icon.

New Cards, New Adventures
All other cards in The Name of the Wind expansion follow the rules specified in the 
core Call to Adventure rulebook. We hope you enjoy this expanded experience and the 
chance to tell your story in one of the greatest worlds in fantasy fiction! For questions 
and expanded FAQs, please visit www.brotherwisegames.com.

If you don’t have the Name of 
the Wind and wish to take the 
top path, face the challenge as 
normal. The top path of this 
card grants you one Intelligence 
icon and one Wind icon. Each 
Wind icon in your Story gives 
you +1 to any future attempts 
to learn the Name of the Wind.

If you prefer to take the “Ship’s 
Only Survivor” path, face 
this challenge as normal. Any 
Name icons you have will not 
help this attempt, and you 
do not gain a Name icon for 
overcoming this path.

If you already have the Name of 
the Wind and want to take the 
“Navigate to Safety” path, you 
do not attempt the Challenge. 
You simply gain the card, 
adding it to your Story with that 
path revealed.

And remember, any time 
you fail a Challenge, you may 
attempt one of the three 
Names (see page 3).
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When a Hero or Antihero card (or other game effect) makes me re-attempt a challenge 
I have just attempted, do I have to repurchase the Dark runes I have just thrown?

No, you do not. Any Dark runes previously purchased via Experience, or extra runes or 
advantages earned through previously played Hero or Antihero cards, may be used in the 
second attempt. Note: If the runes cast in your first attempt showed a , , or other 
special rune icon, they are gained immediately. Resolve those before your re-attempt. 
You do not gain corruption from any   icons that were part of your initial result. 

Can I customize my Call To Adventure decks by mixing and matching cards from the 
core game and the expansion?

Yes! Every new expansion gives you the opportunity to craft a custom deck that features 
the kind of stories you want to tell. But when crafting your own deck, we recommend 
that you take care to keep the number of Ability runes balanced.

Can a Hero or Antihero card like Comrade in Arms or Parting of Ways give you a bonus 
to a Name attempt?

No. The only Hero cards that can apply to a Name attempt are Bind With Iron, Command 
the Flames, or Call the Wind. The Kingkiller destiny, Namer destiny, and the Re'lar trait 
can also affect Name attempts. Other effects that affect your Challenge attempts do not 
affect your name attempts.

When I use a Name to gain a challenge card without needing to make an attempt, can I 
gain either path?

No. You may only gain the path with the corresponding Name icon.

Traits like Broken and Rags to Riches can be gained if you fail a Challenge. Can you gain 
more than one of these Traits in a turn?

No. You may never gain more than one Challenge or Trait card per turn, so you must 
choose one or the other.

For cards that say “reveal this Destiny,” how and when do I do that?

Kingkiller, Prodigy, and Namer each have a one-time ability that you can use at any time. 
To mark that you have used this ability, turn your Destiny card face-up. It remains visible 
through the end of the game.

FAQs
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If I have the Loyal Friends Ally card, and I gain   from Dark runes, does using the 
ability cancel  or ?

This ability allows you to cancel one , so you still move one level down the Corruption 
track.

Can I use a card like Inner Strength to give myself an ability icon to qualify for a Name 
attempt bonus?

No, Inner Strength (and related cards) are only useable “before you attempt a challenge,” 
not a Name attempt.

Can a Hero with the Fae Origin still take paths that have Iron icons? 

Yes. They may never learn the Name of Iron, but they may acquire Iron paths, and even 
score those paths with a Destiny like Namer.

If someone plays Dangerous Truth on me, can I select another challenge to attempt?

You may not. You must attempt the path you declared.
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