
The Tremere and the Thin_bloods are two clans at opposite 
�ends of the spectrum. The Tremere are masters of Blood Sorcery 

who draw incredible power from their Blood, while the Thin_bloods 
must mix a plethora of chemicals with their almost_living Blood 

to extract power from it. You may play these two clans 
head-to-head or simply integrate them with your 

Core Set to give you more options for mixing
clans and creating new decks!

Blood & Alchemy ExpansionBlood & Alchemy Expansion
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New Concepts and Keywords
¯̄1 Blood Potency Token:1 Blood Potency Token: These tokens reduce the maximum Blood 
and prowess of a vampire. The Thin-bloods use these tokens to 
bring other vampires down to their lowly level. Consider these 
tokens to be the side effects of inhaling the vapors from their 
highly questionable concoctions. (See page 7.)

Alchemy:Alchemy: By mixing strange chemicals with their own Blood, the Thin-bloods 
are able to taste the power enjoyed by much older vampires. Alchemy cards 
grant the Thin-Blood Alchemy Discipline, an attribute bonus, and access to 
some powerful effects. (See page 7.)

Fear Token:Fear Token: This is a token that various cards can apply to a 
vampire. The word “FEAR” appears on one side of the token, 
while the other side reads, “Does not ready at start of next 
turn (then remove this).” If this token is on an exhausted 
vampire in your coterie, they do not ready at the start of 
your next turn but they still return to your Haven. After 
applying these effects at the start of your turn, remove the 
token from the affected vampire. Essentially, an exhausted 
vampire with a Fear token won’t be able to do much during 
your next turn (including leaving your Haven). If the 
token is on a ready vampire, it has no effect but is still only 
removed at the start of your turn.

Gaining Extra Actions:Gaining Extra Actions: There are several methods for gaining additional 
actions in this expansion. When you gain an Action or Unhosted Action, it 
allows you to take another action of that type during your current turn. These 
extra actions cannot be saved for a future turn—like your normal actions, any 
that remain unspent at the end of your turn are lost. Gaining additional actions Gaining additional actions 
does not increase your action count during future turns.does not increase your action count during future turns. When you have gained 
additional actions during your turn, call out which action you are on as you 
spend them: "For my 2nd of 3 actions, I..."

Ritual:Ritual: These are Ongoing cards that take time and Blood to perform. Since 
the Tremere are masters of Blood Sorcery, sometimes that Blood is stolen from 
vampires in other coteries. (See page 5.)

Special:Special: This is a keyword in the card type bar that alerts you to some special 
function of the card. The effects will be described on the card itself and break 
the rules of the game in some way. See Haze and Heightened Senses on page 9 
for more details.

Superficial:Superficial: A card with this keyword cannot defeat a target. Instead, they 
typically deal a lot of damage but cannot remove the last Blood from their target.

¯̄1
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The Tremere
The Tremere are warlocks and users of Blood 
Sorcery who seek knowledge and power. They 
are one of the very few clans that have the 
Blood Sorcery Discipline. Blood Sorcery offers 
the Tremere one of the more unique powers in 
the vampire world: Rituals. These are powerful 
Ongoing cards that take time and Blood to perform, 
but grant significant abilities to their practitioners. 
The Tremere prefer to use their sorceries from afar 
instead of battling it out in The Streets.

One theme you will find in the Tremere deck is 
swapping out the Blood of opposing vampires for 
Blood of your own color. This allows you to spend 
their Blood to place on Rituals when you play them, 
but you may also add in Blood from your own vampires.

The Thin¯̄Bloods
Thin¯blood vampires are barely vampires in the 
view of the Camarilla. They are so far removed 
from the original vampire, Caine, that their 
Blood holds little vampiric power. However, 
their half¯living nature gives their Blood unique 
properties as well. They can mix their Blood 
with various chemicals to be able to perform a 
wide variety of basic vampiric abilities. They 
are the only clan with the Thin¯Blood Alchemy 
Discipline, which allows them to concoct these 
unstable mixtures. The Thin¯bloods travel in 
large groups for safety and must gang up to have 
a chance against stronger vampires.

Thin¯̄blood vampires are weak compared to their elder counterparts. They range 
in Blood Potency (BP) from 1¯̄3. Vampires with 2¯̄3 BP have the Thin¯̄Blood 
Alchemy Discipline, while those with 1  BP don’t have any Disciplines. Instead, 
1  BP vampires have “Pay 1 Pay 1 :: Each 1   character in your coterie has +1  
this turn.” Only one vampire needs to pay this to give each 1 BP vampire in 
your coterie 1 Shield vs damage. If additional 1  BP vampires activate their 
ability, your 1  BP vampires gain additional Shields vs damage. As this is damage 
reduction (Shields), it can be used in response to damage no matter whose 
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turn it is, and it doesn’t require the Relentless keyword. Each vampire with 
this ability may activate it onceonce per incoming damage event, whether they are 
taking the damage or not. Shields work against both Aggravated and normal Shields work against both Aggravated and normal 
damage.damage. The Shield effect lasts until the end of the turn and is not “used up” the 
first time damage is reduced that turn.

This Shield ability allows 1 BP vampires to survive damage from Antagonists 
in the City Deck, such as the Aggravated damage from the Special Affairs 
Division. However, remember the Core Rules regarding the Antagonist Step: 
“ … you cannot assign more damage to a vampire than it has Blood.” This means 
you cannot assign more than 1 damage to a vampire with only 1 Blood.

The Thin¯bloods tend to travel in large groups for safety. 1 BP vampires in 
this expansion all have “Party” abilities that grant +1 Blood Potency and a 
Discipline to attackers with the Thin¯Blood Alchemy Discipline in their party. 
These “Party” abilities are triggered when a vampire with  in that party 
makes an attack. 

For example, if Jacob Frost is in a party with 3 1 BP Thin-bloods and makes 
an attack, all 3 of those vampires’ abilities trigger (because he has the Thin-
Blood Alchemy Discipline), granting Jacob +3 BP and 3 Disciplines during the 
attack. At the end of the Thin-blood player’s turn, they are worried about 3 
Special Affairs Division soldiers in The Streets, so they pay 1  to activate a 1 
BP vampire’s ability. They then assign 1 Aggravated damage to 3 different 1 BP 
vampires, who each now have +1 Shields so the S.A.D. damage is all prevented.

New Rules
Rituals
A Ritual is an Ongoing Action card that costs 
2 actions to play, but only 1 vampire with Blood 
Sorcery  is required to exhaust when you play 
it. However, you may exhaust ONE additional 
vampire with Blood Sorcery in the same party 
to reduce the action cost of that Ritual by 1. 
You cannot combine an action and an unhosted 
action to perform a Ritual. When playing a 
Ritual card, place it face up near your Haven 
card. To complete the Ritual, add 1¯3 Blood 
of your colorof your color to the card from any number of 
characters in play (not in torpor). Blood “of your 

color” refers to the border color of the Blood tokens. You can certainly find 
Blood of your color on vampires in your coterie, but you might be able to 
find them on other characters as well. If characters from other coteries have 
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Blood of your color, you may add those Blood tokens to your Ritual as you 
play it to pay the required Blood payment. This removes the Blood token from 
that vampire without an attack or any action other than pulling that Blood 
back to help pay for the Ritual’s Blood cost. These sources can be from any 
mix of coteries. You do not have to “use up” all of the Blood of your color that 
might be on a vampire when you collect some Blood for your Rituals. You also 
cannot remove more Blood from a vampire than you can use to pay for the 
Ritual. You may not remove Blood from non-character sources.

You must add at least 1 Blood to a Ritual as you play it.You must add at least 1 Blood to a Ritual as you play it. The ability to do so is 
preceded by a  icon, so the acting character must have the Blood Sorcery 
Discipline. The more Blood you add, the more “uses” you will get out of the 
Ritual. Once a Ritual is in play, characters like Phuoc Dihn and Claudia 
Sterling may add Blood to it using their abilities. However, you cannot pull 
Blood from characters "for free" once a Ritual is in play. There is no limit to the 
amount of Blood a Ritual may have on it once it's in play. When the last Blood 
on a Ritual is removed, resolve the effect (if any) and burn that Ritual.

There are 2 rules from the Core Set rulebook to keep in mind regarding 
Blood tokens:

1. �Spend/remove your own tokens before spending/removing other tokens.1. �Spend/remove your own tokens before spending/removing other tokens. 
This means your foes cannot spend/remove Blood of your color until they 
have none of their own color remaining.

2. �You cannot spend the last Blood on a vampire ... to pay a cost.2. �You cannot spend the last Blood on a vampire ... to pay a cost. 
Pulling Blood from vampires is paying a cost, and you cannot use the last Blood 
token from any vampire to pay a cost, as this would defeat it. If a vampire 
(yours or a foe’s) has only 1 Blood remaining, you cannot use it to pay for a 
Ritual, even if doing so would win you the game. This means it is impossible to 
drain a vampire down to 0 Blood through adding Blood to a Ritual.

Rituals are Ongoing cards, and as such they have abilities that you can take 
advantage of as long as they are in play. Most of the time, you will remove 1 
Blood token to activate the Ritual’s ability, but sometimes there are additional 
costs to pay. All costs are listed in boldbold text. Like any activated ability, you 
are limited to one use during each of your turns and only during your Action 
Phase. If a Ritual has the RelentlessRelentless keyword, it may be used once during each 
player’s turn, including your own. You may use a Ritual’s activated ability in the 
same turn during which you played the Ritual (like any other card).

Some Rituals remove a Blood token from the Ritual at the start of each of your 
turns. Such a Ritual has a static (non-activated) ability that is immediately in 
effect as soon as it’s in play. Rituals with static abilities have that ability text 
in bold to stand out, but it is not a cost. When the last Blood token is removed 
from a Ritual, the effect (if any) resolves, and then the Ritual is burned. Any 
static effects of the Ritual expire immediately.



7

Alchemy
Alchemy allows the Thin-bloods to taste the 
power of the other clans. The Thin¯̄blood pre-
constructed deck features 3 different types of 
Alchemy cards that you may attach to vampires 
in your coterie. Any vampire may attach Alchemy 
cards, as long as you have at least 1 Thin-blood 
vampire in your coterie. These cards give a 
vampire the Thin¯̄Blood Alchemy Discipline, 
an attribute bonus, and if they are a Thin-blood 
vampire, an additional action that turn. The 
Thin-bloods don’t fear the dawn as much as their 
older counterparts, and that gives them more 
time each night to ply their trade. Some powerful 

effects will require an attached Alchemy card to be detached and discarded to 
use that effect. Having "Alchemy" refers to the card type, not the Thin-Blood 
Alchemy Discipline.

Notes on Attachments:Notes on Attachments: If you choose to remove an attachment from a 
vampire in your coterie, burn it. If an effect calls for you to remove/discard an 
attachment, it is discarded instead of burned, unless the card says otherwise.

¯1 Blood Potency Tokens
As vampires trying to prove their worth, Thin-bloods have an 
interesting trick up their sleeves in Rivals: ¯̄1 Blood Potency tokens. 
If you can’t beat them, bring them down to your level. These 
tokens reduce the maximum Blood and prowess of a vampire. This 

is not damage and cannot be mitigated or reduced with damage-reduction effects. 
If a vampire at maximum Blood receives one of these tokens, they immediately 
lose 1 Blood, as their maximum Blood capacity has been reduced. For example, 
if Sophia Valentine (a 6  BP Tremere) is at maximum Blood and receives a ‘¯̄1 BP’ 
token, her BP drops to 5. Since a vampire cannot have more Blood than its BP, she 
immediately loses 1 Blood and is now at 5 Blood.

If the vampire receiving the token is not at maximum Blood, they don’t 
immediately lose 1 Blood token. Instead, their reduced BP means that they 
won’t be able to mend to their printed BP value anymore and their ability to 
play some cards will be diminished as they might not have enough BP to meet a 
card’s BP requirement.

For example, if Grigori with 5 BP has 3 Blood on him, putting a ‘¯̄1 BP’ token 
reduces his BP to 4. Since he has 3 Blood at the moment, he does not have more 
Blood than his new BP maximum, so he does not lose any Blood. However, 
when he mends, he will not be able to mend to higher than his new maximum 

¯̄1
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BP of 4. Further, he is now limited to playing Library cards with 4 BP or less.

There is no limit to the number of ‘-1 BP’ tokens you may put on a vampire. If 
a vampire’s BP is reduced to 0, they are defeated (due to 0 Blood) and sent to 
torpor. All ‘¯̄1 BP’ tokens are removed from a vampire as they enter torpor, so 
the 1 Prestige of mending will place 1 Blood onto the vampire as it enters torpor.

Specific Card Clarifications
Alejandro Lopez:Alejandro Lopez: This ability may be triggered multiple times during an Action 
Phase. Overmending (mending while at maximum Blood) does not trigger it.

Baal’s Caress:Baal’s Caress: Non-Aggravated damage from this attack (from attributes 
and attack bonuses) is still reduced by attributes. Damage reduction abilities 
(such as Vagrants and Shields) may be used specifically against the Aggravated 
portion of the damage. If the Aggravated damage is all prevented, the vampire 
taking the damage is not burned if defeated. If even 1 Aggravated damage is 
taken and the vampire is defeated, it is burned. Aggravated damage does not 
burn Mortals.

Backup:Backup: The Shields this card provides lock in when it is revealed, so if an 
attached card is removed prior to the damage the Shield value is not reduced.

Break Down:Break Down: If the target is at maximum Blood, they will lose 1 Blood 
immediately from the ‘-1 BP’ token (before damage) due to having more Blood 
than their Blood Potency.

Crossbow:Crossbow: Once attached, the player cannot remove this by choice. It will only 
be removed when the vampire is defeated (discard it to the owner’s discard pile) 
or burned (burn all attached cards).

Extinguish Vitae:Extinguish Vitae: Removing Blood in this way is an effect, not a cost, so it will 
defeat a character with no Blood other than that of your color.

Far Reach:Far Reach: If you detach an Alchemy card from the acting character, an attack 
declaration is automatically made against the target of the card. The attacker 
is already in the exhausted position from playing this action, but they are still 
“becoming an attacker” from this effect and they continue the attack from Step 
3 of the Attack Sequence. If there are exhausted vampires in the party, they 
remain as the initial action (playing this card) does not require a vampire to 
move away from exhausted characters in their party. Your vampire does not 
need to be in The Streets to use this card or make the subsequent attack (which 
the target cannot react to). You may add an Attack card to this attack as usual.
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Frog:Frog: His detach ability reduces regular or Aggravated damage he takes. 
Detaching an Alchemy resolves before attributes reduce damage.

Haze:Haze: Since this card is played face up, it resolves immediately. This will negate 
a Ranged attack. Do not proceed to any other attack sequence steps. This card 
can also be played to negate a non-Attack effect that targets a member of 
the party, such as Sonja Valentine’s Blood swapping ability or an Action card 
like Extinguish Vitae. This card has the “Special” tag to alert you to its unique 
ability to be used outside of an attack sequence.

Heightened Senses:Heightened Senses: You may play this Special card during any attack (of one of 
the types listed) to aid any vampire in The Streets. A player being attacked may 
play only one Reaction (per the Core Rules), but each other player may add 
this Special Reaction to aid the defending vampire. This Reaction card gives 
that vampire Shields vs the attack. The Leader being checked for the Auspex 
Discipline is the Leader of the person who played this card. This card cannot be 
played during a claim to the Prince Title.

Knowledge is Power:Knowledge is Power: Complete the action/exhaust/attack/cardplay before 
resolving this triggered Agenda gain. If there are multiple triggers to resolve at 
once, you choose the order in which they resolve. To gain 2 Agenda, you must 
have exactly 10 Library cards in your hand at the end of the action, attack, or 
exhaust effect your Leader performs in The Streets.

Out of Time:Out of Time: When you resolve this Conspiracy, place it face up near the 
targeted player so they remember to lose an action during their next turn.

Rain of Blood:Rain of Blood: This is indeed an Unhosted Scheme. All previous Schemes are 
Actions (which require a host to exhaust). No vampire is “playing” this card.

Sonja Valentine, Grigori:Sonja Valentine, Grigori: You may replace any Blood token on the target of 
these abilities. Grigori can “cleanse” the Blood of your own coterie and both 
Grigori and Sonja can “overwrite” another Tremere player’s Blood on a 3rd 
party. Replacing the last Blood token on a vampire isn’t of much use for Rituals, 
as you cannot remove it from a vampire to pay a cost. Placing Blood onto a 
Ritual is part of the cost to play it, and you can’t defeat a vampire by paying a 
cost, even if it’s not your vampire. 

Thrift Store:Thrift Store: All Library cards you play have a -1 BP requirement, whether 
played by your Leader or not.

Third Tradition:Third Tradition: The Progeny:The Progeny: If a player has no cards to discard, they must lose 
1 Prestige.

University Library Haven:University Library Haven: The keyword Relentless means: “You may use this 
activated ability during any player’s turn.” It may be used only once during each 
player’s turn.
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